Best of Memphis.

{A touristy picture I took the last time I was at Stax, for posterity.}

Ok. I was just asked to compile a list of the best things to do in Memphis for some out-of-towners (from LA) and their parents. I love my city of birth to the core, so this was like a treat for me (aside from the fact that it just makes me wish I was there now!).

This is what I came up with off the top of my head (in no particular order):

  • Civil Rights Museum (the Lorraine Motel–where Martin Luther King died)
  • Memphis Zoo (there are pandas!)
  • Stax Museum (where everyone cool recorded)
  • Sun Studio (where elvis recorded)
  • Brooks Art Museum (amazing Impressionism permanent collection)
  • Graceland
  • South Main Art District (galleries and trolley rides)
  • Beale Street
  • U of M Tigers basketball games at the Fedex Forum
  • The BBQ Shop (on Madison–where the regulars go–also run by my friend Eric…tell him Emily Spence sent you!)
  • The Rendezvous (for ribs–where the tourists go)
  • Huey’s (for burgers)
  • Central BBQ (for BBQ nachos)
  • Tops BBQ (for quick BBQ)
  • Bryant’s (for biscuits)
  • Gus’s World Famous Hot & Spicy Chicken (best chicken ever)
  • Overton Park (nice to walk around in after eating BBQ.. haha also next to Brooks)
  • The Hi Tone (for music)
  • Cooper Young District for good food/shops
  • Cafe Eclectic (for good coffee/breakfast)
  • Earnestine & Hazel’s (for a really authentic dive blues bar/used-to-be-brothel)
5 thoughts on “Best of Memphis.

  1. I love Rendezvous! Yes, I’m a tourist…but everytime I’m in Memphis I have to go. Where else is there? Is there someplace better? Their ribs are pretty damn good.

  2. My favorite is BBQ Shop. That’s not to say the other places aren’t AMAZING because they certainly are. You won’t find better BBQ anywhere. Rendezvous is great but definitely much more upscale than the other legit places in town, so it depends on the type of atmosphere you’re looking for. Steven–I would HIGHLY recommend The BBQ Shop, Cozy Corner and Central BBQ next time you’re in town. :]

Leave a Reply

